Nous contacter | Inscrivez-vous | Dates et prix | Vidéos | FAQ | Infos pratiques | Blog


Une des randonnées les plus magnifiques

Un guide complet de la randonnée "El Sendero de los Quetzales"

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS POUR UNE RANDONNÈE AU SENTIER »

Vous êtes ici:
Accueil Eco-tours Boquete
Quetzals Randonnée sur le sentier

Envie d'observer un Quetzal insaisissable?

Venez visiter nos hauts plateaux!
Please call me
Remplissez notre FORMULAIRE

Demandez un devis

Appelez-nous!

+507 - 730 - 8344
315 - 254 - 2331
09 - 70 - 44 - 52 - 21
044 - 585 - 30 - 35
069 - 2547 - 2686
020 - 8144 - 2785
08 - 519 - 70 - 304
020 - 894 - 39 - 38
02 - 8007 - 5434
Utilisateur Skype: habla.ya

La plupart des sentiers au Panama ne sont pas maintenus, et il n'y a pas de signalisation. Ne tentez pas de faire une randonnée sans guide. Vous risquez de vous perdre, et de mettre votre vie en danger. Les courants des rivières, les précipices, les nuits froides en montagne et d'autres dangers de la nature sont des risques que vous ne devriez pas prendre à la légère. S'il vous plaît faites de la randonnée avec un guide certifié d'une entreprise digne de confiance.

Informations générales et faits concernant "El Sendero de los Quetzales"

Quetzal resplendissant dans le Parc National du Volcan Bar

Considéré comme l'un des sentiers les plus beaux en Amérique centrale, le sentier des Quetzals est sans aucun doute la randonnée la plus populaire dans les hautes terres de l'ouest du Panama. Situé dans le Parc National du Volcan Baru, le "Sentier de los Quetzales" relie la ville de Guadalupe, qui est près de Cerro Punta sur le côté ouest du volcan, avec la ville de Boquete qui se trouve à l'Est. Le sentier longe le volcan Baru sur sa face nord, et peut être parcourue en tous sens, à partir de Boquete et se terminant à Cerro Punta, ou vice versa.

Ce sentier pédestre de 9,6 km (distance totale de 6 miles) se parcoure en 4 à 7 heures. Les fluctuations du temps dépendent de la vitesses de randonnée, de la direction choisie pour effectuer la randonnée (montée ou descente), du temps passé à contempler le paysage et le temps investi pour "traquer" l'un des oiseaux les plus splendides qui donne son nom à ce sentier: le Quetzal resplendissant.

Sentier de randonnée pédestre le quetzal, un superbe randonnée dans les nuages le Chiriqu's Forest

L'altitude à Boquete est de 975 mètres (3.200 pieds, mais le poste de garde forestier où la randonnée commence est à environ 1.800 mètres d'altitude. Cerro Punta est à 1981 mètres (6500 pieds), mais le point culminant de la piste des Quetzals est marqué à 2.500 mètres. Cela fait que le changement d'altitude est d'environ 500 mètres tout au long de la randonnée tout entière. Dans le parc national les températures varient de 10 - 16C (50 à 60F).

A chaque extrémité du sentier des Quetzals, l'ANAM (Autorité nationale de l'Environnement) a un poste de garde marquant le début et la fin de la randonnée. Lors de la dernière partie de la route goudronnée, à environ 8 km du centre ville de Boquete, Alto Chiquero garde l'entrée du côté est du parc national. El Respingo est certainement plus proche de la ville de Guadalupe, à seulement 4 km, mais la route n'est pas bitumée sur ce côté-ci de sorte que le trajet de Guadalupe à ce poste de garde forestier est plus longue et vous avez besoin d'un 4 x 4 pour la faire.

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS POUR UNE RANDONNÈE AU SENTIER DES QUETZALS »

Notre randonnée guidée comprend un guide d'observation d'oiseaux bilingue et les arrangements de transport pour vous déposer à une station de garde forestier pré-sélectionnée, et venir vous chercher à l'autre station de garde forestier une fois que la randonnée est terminée. La randonnée des Quetzals dans les deux sens a ses avantages et ses inconvénients, comme expliqué ci-dessous.

Haut de page

Randonnée au sentier Quetzals de Boquete à Cerro Punta

Sentier de randonnée pédestre le Quetzal à Boquete au Cerro Punta a ses avantages

La randonnée dans ce sens exige plus d'endurance physique que la descente, mais elle possède un avantage significatif: il vous sera possible d'observer plus d'animaux sauvages dans les bassess altitudes du parc national, en particulier pendant les premières heures de la journée. Si vous choisissez de faire la randonnée en montée, alors nos visites guidées ont pour but d'arriver à la station Alto Chiquero à Boquete au lever du soleil. Nous pouvons commencer plus tôt si vous le désirez.

Pendant la première heure, vous pourrez trouver quelques Quetzals perchés le long du sentier. La quantité d'oiseaux diminue rapidement après la première heure, principalement en raison de la progression de la journée, mais aussi en raison de l'augmentation de l'altitude.

Un autre point en faveur de cette option est que, bien que la randonnée en amont soit plus intense, une descente peut être plus dure pour les genoux. Et encore un autre avantage est qu'à Boquete il pleut plus souvent l'après-midi, et à Cerro Punta il pleut le plus souvent le matin, de sorte que vous aurez une plus grande chance de rester sec dans cette direction. Pour dire la vérité, dans la forêt pendant la saison des pluies, il n'y a pas de garantie de rester sec.

Vous avez une meilleure chance de repérer plus d'animaux sauvages avec cette option

Du côté de Boquete, El "Sendero de los Quetzales" commence après la station Alto Chiquero avec trois quarts d'heures de marche (surtout en descente avec un peu de montées) sur une route de terre. À un certain point au lieu de continuer sur la terre / cailloux, nous prenons à gauche et rejoignons le sentier qui nous plonge immédiatement dans la forêt tropicale. Après environ une heure et demi ou deux de terrain généralement plat avec seulement une descente légère, la montée raide commence.

Une série d'escaliers le long des terrains les plus escarpés présentent les plus grands obstacles. L'exposition à l'humidité a pourri le bois, et des marches sont souvent manquantes et couvertes de mousse.

À mi-hauteur de la montée nous atteignons une zone de pique-nique avec plusieurs tables en bois. Plus haut, à mi-chemin le long du sentier, nous arrivons à "Mirador La Roca", qui est approximativement à égale distance entre les deux postes de garde forestier et des marques de plus haute altitude du sentier à Il existe plusieurs points d'observation le long du sentier du Quetzal 3100 m. Selon notre rythme de randonnée, cette partie du sentier peut être parcourue en 45 minutes à 1,5 heures. Cette aire de repos offre une plate-forme panoramique avec près de 270 panoramas, un abri, des terrains de pique-nique et un camping. C'est là où nous nous arrêtons pour un bon déjeuner. Une ouverture sans nom, quelques minutes avant de cet emplacement, vous offre encore une plus grande vue panoramique. Ensuite nous revenons à Boquete.

Le reste du parcours continue vers le haut dans la foret des nuages mais avec une pente moins inclinée. C'est certes assez dur, et après 2 - 3 heures nous arrivons enfin à la station Alto Respingo où nous seront ramassés et emmenés à la ville de Guadalupe, où nous prendrons les transports en commun pour revenir à Boquete. Pour l'option avec nuitée, ce sera notre lieu de campement. C'est tout simplement magnifique. Presque tout le monde est d'accord pour dire que ce côté du sentier est le plus étonnant, et le lendemain il y a encore plus de choses à observer dans la faune au début de la matinée.

 
Prix étudiant Habla Ya
Prix non-étudiant
Aller et retour $50 par personne $55 par personne
De Boquete à Cerro Punta $75 - $125 par personne $125 par personne
La nuitée (De Boquete à Cerro Punta) $150 par personne $175 par personne

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS POUR UNE RANDONNEE AU SENTIER DES QUETZALS »

Bien que le fait de commencer tôt ne garantit pas d'apercevoir un Quetzal insaisissable, si vous commencez la randonnée juste avant l'aube vous augmentez fortement la chance en votre faveur. Lors d'une visite guidée, des randonneurs ont repéré jusqu'à 15 Quetzals en une seule journée.

Haut de page

Randonnée du sentier des Quetzals de Cerro Punta à Boquete

Vous pouvez également randonnée Sentier du Quetzal à Cerro Punta à Boquete

L'avantage majeur de la randonnée de l'ouest vers l'est, c'est qu'elle est en descente, et pour certains randonneurs cela pourrait signifier qu'elle est désormais une randonnée faisable. Si vous ne pouvez pas la faire en montée ou que vous n'aimez pas l'idée de partir tôt, parcourir le sentier des Quetzals dans ce sens vaut certainement la peine.

Un transport privé est fourni de Boquete à Cerro Punta. D'un autre point de vue, il est également réconfortant de savoir qu'à la fin de la randonnée, seulement après 20 minutes en voiture, vous serez de retour à votre hôtel pour un bain d'eau chaude, ou dans un des nombreux restaurants de Boquete avec un bon plat chaud en face de vous, plutôt que de faire un voyage de 3 heures de montée de Cerro Punta à David, puis de David à Boquete.

 
Prix étudiant Habla Ya
Prix non-étudiant
De Cerro Punta à Boquete $75 - $125 par personne $125 par personne

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS POUR UNE RANDONNEE AU SENTIER DES QUETZALS »

La randonnée en descente prend en moyenne une heure de moins que la randonnée vers le haut. L'itinéraire est fondamentalement le même, dans l'ordre inverse, ce qui signifie que, même si c'est surtout en descente, tout à la fin pendant le dernier kilomètre, vous serez défié par la " Loma de los Lamentos" (Colline des misères).

Haut de page

Randonnée du sentier des Quetzals: itinéraire et prix

Que devez-vous prendre?

Note: tous nos circuits de randonnée partent de Boquete et exigent un minimum de 2 personnes. Les horaires sont sujets au changement. Sur demande, nous pouvons commencer plus tard ou plus tôt. Les temps sont approximatifs et dépendent de la météo, de la taille des groupes, de la condition physique des randonneurs et d'autres facteurs.

Randonnée aller et retour à Boquete

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS MAINTENANT POUR FAIRE LA RANDONNEE ALLER-RETOUR A BOQUETE

 
Prix étudiant Habla Ya
Prix non-étudiant
Aller et retour $50 par personne $55 par personne

itinéraire de la randonnée de Boquete à Cerro Punta

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS MAINTENANT POUR UNE RANDONNÈE DE BOQUETE A CERRO PUNTA »

 
Prix étudiant Habla Ya
Prix non-étudiant
De Boquete à Cerro Punta $75 - $125 par personne $125 par personne

Circuit de la randonnée des Quetzals de Cerro Punta à Boquete

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS POUR LA RANDONNÈE DE CERRO PUNTA A BOQUETE »

 
Prix étudiant Habla Ya
Prix non-étudiant
De Cerro Punta à Boquete $75 - $125 par personne $125 par personne

Itinéraire de la randonnée des Quetzals avec nuitée de Boquete a Cerro Punta

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS POUR UNE RANDONNÈE AU SENTIER DES QUETZALS »

 
Prix étudiant Habla Ya
Prix non-étudiant
La nuitée (De Boquete à Cerro Punta) $150 par personne $175 par personne

Les prix comprend: le transport vers et à partir de chaque poste de garde, le déjeuner, l'entrée au Parc National du Volcan Baru, le guide bilingue, le kit de sécurité.

Haut de page

La beauté du sentier des Quetzals: un sentier-éco dans le Parc National

Randonnée El Sendero de Los Quetzales est une expérience merveilleuse

Dans ce sentier à travers les hauts plateaux de Chiriqui, vous devez vous frayer un chemin dans les montagnes, à travers les forêts de nuages, an vous délectant de vos sens avec des orchidées colorées cachées dans les arbres immenses et le but du jeu est de tenter d'apercevoir un resplendissant et insaisissable Quetzal dans la végétation dense. Vous pourrez également croiser des indigènes Ngobe Bugle; les dames avec leurs robes magnifiques qui ressemblent aux oiseaux colorés dans la forêt sombre.

C'est une randonnée précieuse au soleil, mais durant la saison des pluies, le brouillard donne à la forêt des nuages un coté mystique. La forêt tropicale est en perpétuelle évolution, avec des magnifiques vues panoramiques de crêtes, de vallées, de cascades et des rivières douces et claires. Au cours de cette randonnée, vous aurez à traverser de nombreux ruisseaux, en équilibre parfois sur les troncs d'arbre, pas à pas, parfois de pierre en pierre, mais restez toujours prudent avec la vie végétale glissante qui peut compliquer les manouvres. Vous devriez maintenant avoir commencé à comprendre pourquoi ce sentier est certainement l'un des meilleurs circuits du Panama pour la randonnée.

 
Prix étudiant Habla Ya
Prix non-étudiant
Aller et retour $50 par personne $55 par personne
De Boquete à Cerro Punta $75 - $125 par personne $125 par personne
De Cerro Punta à Boquete $75 - $125 par personne $125 par personne
La nuitée (De Boquete à Cerro Punta) $150 par personne $175 par personne

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS POUR UNE RANDONNEE AU SENTIER DES QUETZALS »

Comme l'indique le nom de la randonnée, le Quetzal resplendissant est le point culminant de cette tournée. Les chances d'apercevoir un Quetzal seront certainement plus élevées si un guide vous accompagne. Il sera capable d'imiter les bruits de l'oiseau, les appeler, les approcher sans les effrayer, et de son expérience, il sera en mesure de vous emmener à des endroits appropriés où les Quetzals peuvent être vus. Notre visite guidée comprend un guide professionnel d'observation des oiseaux.

Haut de page

Les oiseaux, la végétation et la faune du sentier des Quetzals

Trail Le Quetzal est plein de toutes les différentes nuances de vert

Le sentier des Quetzals est un paradis botanique pour les randonneurs, avec des couches superposées de croissance dense et l'isolement d'ombre sous le feuillage luxuriant de la forêt. Une grande variété de tons verts peuvent être appréciés, et là où le soleil parvient à percer, des couleurs brillantes exposent la beauté de la nature.

La région est considérée comme une île au sein de la biosphère en raison de son isolement et la hauteur du volcan Baru. Les espèces endémiques d'orchidées et de la flore unique, comme le magnolia et des chênes géants, qui ont entre 600 et 900 ans, ont baptisé cette terre. Le long du chemin, vous tomberez sur des jardins de bambou sauvage, gigantesque, des arbres noueux couverts de vignes et des broméliacées à partir de leurs troncs. Prenez votre temps pour vraiment apprécier cette randonnée.

 
Prix étudiant Habla Ya
Prix non-étudiant
Aller et retour $50 par personne $55 par personne
De Boquete à Cerro Punta $75 - $125 par personne $125 par personne
De Cerro Punta à Boquete $75 - $125 par personne $125 par personne
La nuitée (De Boquete à Cerro Punta) $150 par personne $175 par personne

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS POUR UNE RANDONNEE AU SENTIER DES QUETZALS »

La forêt est peuplée de plus de 250 espèces d'oiseaux, dont le soyeux gobe-mouche, le three-wattled Bellbird, plusieurs variétés de colibri et le pic chevelu. Le Quetzal resplendissant est évidemment la star de la liste et est plus souvent repéré au cours de la saison sèche, de décembre à mai.

Haut de page

Le rêve des ornithologues: observer un Quetzal au Panama

Avec un oiseau regarder guide expérimenté vous avez une meilleure chance d'apercevoir un Quetzal

Le Quetzal resplendissant vert est largement considéré comme le plus bel oiseau des Amériques. Beaucoup s'émerveillent devant une observation, en particulier du Quetzal pour son plumage nuptial et les plumes de sa queue qui peuvent atteindre près de 0,6 m (2 pieds) de long. De décembre à mai, le meilleur endroit pour voir un Quetzal resplendissant est dans la forêt des nuages du parc national du volcan Baru. Comme suggéré précédemment, commencer le sentier des Quetzals autour du lever de soleil vous donne amplement de chances de repérer un seul Quetzal et vous aurez encore plus de possibilités si vous êtes accompagné par un guide d'observation d'oiseaux qui peut imiter leurs bruits afin de les attirer, et qui sait ou chercher pour les repérer. Nous pouvons également organiser un tour d'observation d'oiseaux, axé sur le Quetzal, pour ceux qui ne sont pas nécessairement intéressés par la randonnée du sentier des Quetzals.

Dans nos visites guidées, nous avons repéré jusqu'à 14 quetzales en une seule journée

Le Quetzal resplendissant a ses racines des Mixtèques, Toltèques, de la culture Maya et Aztèque. Quetzalcoatl, un personnage central dans la mythologie autochtone d'Amérique centrale, se présente comme un hybride entre un quetzal et un serpent, né d'une plume qui a atterri sur sa mère vierge. Le serpent représente la terre et la végétation, mais c'était à Teotihuacan (Mexico City, autour de 150 avant J.-C.), où le serpent reçoit les plumes précieuses du quetzal, comme en témoignent les fresques de la ville. Les représentations les plus élaborées proviennent de l'ancien Temple de Quetzalcoatl autour de 200 avant JC, ce qui montre un serpent à sonnettes avec les longues plumes vertes du Quetzal. Plus récemment, les peuples autochtones en Amérique centrale, croyant le Quetzal incapable de survivre en captivité, l'ont interprété comme un symbole de liberté.

 
Prix étudiant Habla Ya
Prix non-étudiant
Aller et retour $50 par personne $55 par personne
De Boquete à Cerro Punta $75 - $125 par personne $125 par personne
De Cerro Punta à Boquete $75 - $125 par personne $125 par personne
La nuitée (De Boquete à Cerro Punta) $150 par personne $175 par personne

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS POUR UNE RANDONNEE AU SENTIER DES QUETZALS »

Le quetzal resplendissant a été appelé «l'oiseau le plus spectaculaire dans le Nouveau Monde», mais aujourd'hui il est listé à l'Annexe I à la Convention sur le commerce international des espèces menacées d'extinction, ce qui signifie que l'espèce est menacée d'extinction.


Add This
Ajoutez aux favoris ou Partager...

Haut de page

Quetzals' Trail Guided Hiking Tour | Hike Chiriqui's Eco-Path

Hiker in Boquete admiring the beauty of the Quetzals' Trail

One of Panama's Most Gorgeous Hikes

"El Sendero de los Quetzales" Guided Hiking Tour

SIGN UP TO LEARN SPANISH IN BOQUETE...
Please note: most hiking trails in Panama are not maintained nor properly signed posted so please DO NOT ATTEMPT TO HIKE ON YOUR OWN as getting lost can put your life in danger. Sudden river surges, precipices, cold nights and other hazards are real threats. Always hike with a certified guide from a reputable company.

General Info and Facts

Resplendent Quetzal in the Volcan Barú National Park

Considered one of the most gorgeous paths in Central America, the Quetzals' Trail is without any doubt the most popular hike in Panama's western highlands. Located within the Volcan Baru National Park, the "Sendero de los Quetzales" links the towns of Guadalupe, which is near Cerro Punta on the west side of the Volcano, with the town of Boquete which is on its east. The trail skirts the Baru Volcano on its north face and can be hiked in any direction, starting in Boquete and ending in Cerro Punta, or vice versa.

Hiking the 9.6 kms (total distance of 6 miles) of this path may take from 4 to 7 hours. Fluctuations in timing come from differences in hiking speeds, direction chosen to complete the hike (uphill or downhill), time spent contemplating the scenery and time invested "hunting down" one of the splendorous birds that gives its name to this path: the Resplendent Quetzal.

Hiking the Quetzal's Trail, a gorgeous hike in the Chiriquí's cloud forest

Boquete's altitude is 975 meters (3,200 feet) above sea level but the ranger station where the hike starts is at about 1,800 meters and Cerro Punta's altitude is 1,981 meters (6,500 feet) but the highest point in the Quetzals' Trail is marked at 2,500 meters. This makes the shift in altitude around 500 meters for the entire hike. In this National Park temperatures range from 10° - 16°C (50° to 60°F).

At each end of the Quetzals' Trail the ANAM (National Authority of the Environment) has a Ranger Station that marks the beginning and end of the hike. At the last part of the paved road, roughly 8 km from downtown Boquete, Alto Chiquero Ranger Station guards the entrance on the east side of the National Park. El Respingo Ranger Station is certainly closer from the town of Guadalupe, at only 4 km but the road is not paved on this side so the ride from Guadalupe to this ranger station takes longer and you need a 4 x 4 to make it.

SIGN UP NOW & BOOK YOUR SPANISH IMMERSION VACATION IN PANAMA...
Our guided tour includes a bilingual bird watching guide and transportation arrangements to drop you off at a pre-selected Ranger Station and pick you up at its counterpart once the hiking tour is over. Hiking the Quetzals' Trail in each direction has its own advantages and disadvantages, as it will be explained further on.
Top of page

Hiking the Quetzals' Trail from Boquete to Cerro Punta

Hiking the Quetzal's Trail from Boquete to Cerro Punta has its advantages

Hiking the trek in this direction demands more physical stamina and endurance than going downhill, but it does have a major significant advantage: you'll be able to encounter more wildlife in the lower altitudes of the National Park, especially during the first hours of light.

Within the first hour you could find some Quetzals still roosting along the trail. The amount of birds rapidly decreases after the first hour, mainly due to the progression of day but also because of the increase in altitude.

Another point in favor of this option is that although the uphill hike is more strenuous, it can be gentler on the knees than a steep rough descent. And yet another advantage is that in Boquete it more commonly rains in the afternoons and in Cerro Punta it more commonly rains in the mornings, so you may stand a better chance of remaining dry if hiking in this direction. Truth told, in the rainforest during the rainy season, there is no such thing as a guarantee for dryness.


You have a better chance to spot more wildlife with this option

From Boquete's side, El "Sendero de los Quetzales" starts after Alto Chiquero's Ranger Station with three quarters of an hour hike (mostly downhill with a few ups) on a dirt road. At some point instead of continuing on the dirt/rock road we take a left and join the trail that immediately immerses us into the rainforest. After about an hour and a half or two of mostly flat terrain with only a slight pendent, the steep ascent begins.

Series of staircases scale the steepest terrains, and present the greatest obstacles. Ongoing exposure to moisture has rotted the wood, and steps are frequently missing and covered with moss.

There are several viewing points along the Quetzal's Trail

Midway up the ascent we reach a picnic area with several wooden tables. Further up, about halfway along the trail, we arrive to "Mirador La Roca" which is approximately equidistant from both Ranger Stations and marks the trail's highest elevation at 3,100m. Depending our hiking pace, this part of the trail can be covered in 45 minutes to 1.5 hours. This resting area offers a viewing platform with almost 270° panoramas, a shelter, picnic grounds and a camping site. This is where we stop to have a nice lunch. An unnamed opening, several minutes before this spot, offers even greater panoramic views. In the Out and Back option we then return to Boquete.

The rest of the trail continues upwards into the cloud forest but with a less inclined gradient. It is certainly tough enough and after 2 - 3 hours we finally reach Alto Respingo Ranger Station where we will be picked up and taken to the town of Guadalupe where we'll have private transportation back to Boquete. For the overnight option, this will be our camping spot. Simply beautiful. Almost everybody agrees that this side of the trail is the most amazing and the next day even more wildlife watching early in the morning.

Rates
  Habla Ya Student Rate Normal Rate
Out and Back $50 $55
Boquete to Cerro Punta $75 - $125 $125
Overnight (Boquete to Cerro Punta) $150 $175

* Prices are in US Dollars. The above prices are per person and do not include Panama's 7% ITBMS Sales.

SIGN UP NOW & BOOK YOUR SPANISH LEARNING VACATION IN PANAMA...
Although an we cannot guarantee spotting one of the elusive quetzals, with our guides the odds are in your favor. In a guided tour hikers have spotted up to 15 quetzals in a single day.
Top of page

Hiking the Quetzals' Trail from Cerro Punta to Boquete

You can also hike the Quetzal's Trail from Cerro Punta to Boquete

The major advantage about making the hike from west to east is that it is mostly downhill and for some hikers this might mean that it is now a doable hike. If you cannot make it uphill or do not like the idea of having an early start, completing the Quetzals' Trail in this direction is certainly worth it.

Private transportation is provided from Boquete to Cerro Punta. From another point of view it is also a comforting idea to know that at the end of the hike, only after a 20 minute drive, you'll be back in your hotel for a hot water bath, or in one of Boquete's many restaurants with a hot plate of food in front of you, as opposed to making a 3 hour road journey after the hike, first from Cerro Punta to David, and then from David to Boquete.

Rates
  Habla Ya Student Rate Normal Rate
Cerro Punta to Boquete $75 - $125 $125

* Prices are in US Dollars. The above prices are per person and do not include Panama's 7% ITBMS Sales.

SIGN UP NOW & BOOK YOUR SPANISH IMMERSION HOLIDAY IN PANAMA...
The downhill hike takes in average an hour less than the uphill hike. The itinerary is basically the same, just in the opposite order, which means that although it is mostly downhill, at the very end of it, during the last kilometer, you'll be challenged by la "Loma de los Lamentos" (Hill of Miseries).
Top of page

Guided Tour Itinerary and Cost

What do you need to take?
  • Small backpack or rucksack (any extra weight only makes the hike more difficult: keep it light)
  • Drinking water (at least 2 liters per person)
  • Snacks (nuts, chocolate, energy bars, etc.)
  • Shoes in good condition for hiking
  • A digital camera with enough batteries and memory space
  • Rain coat or waterproof jacket (" poncho" )
  • A soul at peace to contemplate nature's beauty (and a rested body for the hike)
Note: all of our hiking tours depart from Boquete and require a minimum of 2 persons. Schedules are subject to change. Times are approximate and depend on weather, group size, hikers physical condition and other factors.

Out and Back to Boquete
  • 8:00 a.m. Meet up in Boquete and depart to Alto Chiquero's Ranger Station (Boquete's side).
  • 8:30 a.m. Arrive to Alto Chiquero Ranger Station and sign registration book.
  • 11:00 a.m. Arrive to "Mirador La Roca" (Rock Viewing Point). Snack break.
  • 11:30 a.m. Restart hiking back to Boquete.
  • 1:30 p.m. Arrive back to Alto Chiquero Ranger Station (Boquete's side). Lunch.
  • 2:00 p.m. Arrive to downtown Boquete.
Rates
  Habla Ya Student Rate Normal Rate
Out and Back $50 $55

* Prices are in US Dollars. The above prices are per person and do not include Panama's 7% ITBMS Sales.

Boquete to Cerro Punta
  • 8:00 a.m. Meet up in Boquete and depart to Alto Chiquero's Ranger Station (Boquete's side).
  • 8:30 a.m. Arrive to Alto Chiquero Ranger Station and sign registration book.
  • 11:00 a.m. Arrive to "Mirador La Roca" (Rock Viewing Point). Lunch.
  • 12:00 a.m. Restart hiking.
  • 2:00 p.m. Arrive to El Respingo Ranger Station (Cerro Punta's side).
  • 4:00 p.m. Arrive to downtown Boquete.
Rates
  Habla Ya Student Rate Normal Rate
Boquete to Cerro Punta $75 - $125 $125

* Prices are in US Dollars. The above prices are per person and do not include Panama's 7% ITBMS Sales.

Cerro Punta to Boquete
  • 8:00 a.m. Meet in Boquete and depart to Cerro Punta from Boquete by private transportation (we may depart earlier if requested by group).
  • 10:00 a.m. Arrive to Guadalupe end of pavement road.
  • 10:30 a.m. Arrive to El Respingo Ranger Station (Cerro Punta's side) and sign registration book. Hike begins.
  • 1:00 p.m. Arrive to "Mirador La Roca" (Rock Viewing Point). Lunch break.
  • 1:30 p.m. Restart hiking.
  • 3:30 p.m. Arrive to Alto Chiquero Ranger Station (Boquete's side), pickup point.
  • 4:00 p.m. Arrive to downtown Boquete.
Rates
  Habla Ya Student Rate Normal Rate
Cerro Punta to Boquete $75 - $125 $125

* Prices are in US Dollars. The above prices are per person and do not include Panama's 7% ITBMS Sales.

Overnight Boquete to Cerro Punta
  • 8:00 a.m. Meet up in Boquete and depart to Alto Chiquero's Ranger Station (Boquete's side).
  • 8:30 a.m. Arrive to Alto Chiquero Ranger Station and sign registration book.
  • 11:30 a.m. Arrive to "Mirador La Roca" (Rock Viewing Point). Lunch.
  • 1:00 p.m. Restart hiking.
  • 4:00 p.m. Arrive to El Respingo Ranger Station (Cerro Punta's side). Setup Camping Site. Explore.
  • 7:00 p.m. Setup Camp Fire. Dinner.
  • 5:00 a.m. next day. Pick up gear. Snack. Start looking for wildlife hiking back to Boquete.
  • 8:00 a.m. Breakfast.
  • 9:00 a.m. Arrive to Mirador la Roca.
  • 12:00 p.m. Arrive to Alto Chiquero Ranger Station (Boquete's side). Lunch.
  • 12:30 p.m. Depart back to Boquete
  • 1:00 p.m. Arrive to downtown Boquete.
Rates
  Habla Ya Student Rate Normal Rate
Overnight (Boquete to Cerro Punta) $150 $175

* Prices are in US Dollars. The above prices are per person and do not include Panama's 7% ITBMS Sales.

SIGN UP NOW & BOOK YOUR SPANISH LEARNING PROGRAM IN PANAMA...
Prices includes: transportation to and from each Ranger Station, lunch, entrance fee to Volcan Baru National Park, Bilingual Bird Watching Guide, safety kit.
Top of page

The Quetzals' Trail Scenery

Hiking El Sendero de Los Quetzales is a wonderful experience

In this trail through Chiriqui's highlands you have to make your way up and over the mountains, through primary, secondary and cloud forests, delighting your senses with colorful orchids hidden in the immense trees and the name of the game is trying to spot an elusive Resplendent Quetzal within the dense vegetation. You may also bump into Ngöbe Bugle ladies with their wonderful dresses that look like the colorful birds against the dark forest.

It is a precious hike in the sun but during the rainy season the cool mist and fog also give the cloud forest a mystical feeling. The rainforest is always changing, with beautiful vistas of peaks, valleys, waterfalls and rivers flowing fresh and clear. During this hike you'll have to cross many streams, sometimes balancing on tree trunks, sometimes stepping from stone to stone, but always being careful with slippery plant life that can complicate the maneuvers required. By now you should have begun to understand why his is certainly one of the Panama's best hiking tours.

Rates
  Habla Ya Student Rate Normal Rate
Out and Back $50 $55
Boquete to Cerro Punta $75 - $125 $125
Overnight (Boquete to Cerro Punta) $150 $175

* Prices are in US Dollars. The above prices are per person and do not include Panama's 7% ITBMS Sales.

SIGN UP NOW & BOOK YOUR SPANISH PROGRAM IN PANAMA...
As indicated by the hike's name, the Resplendent Quetzal is the highlight of this tour. Chances of spotting a Quetzal will certainly be higher if a bird watching guide accompanies you. He will be able to mimic the bird's noises, call them, make an approach without scaring them off, and from his experience he will be able to take you to the appropriate places where Quetzals can be seen. Our guided tour includes a professional birdwatching guide.
Top of page

Birds, Vegetation and Wildlife

The Quetzal's Trail is full of all different shades of green

The Quetzals' Trail is a botanical paradise for hikers, with layers upon layers of dense growth and shaded isolation beneath the lush canopy of the forest. A wide variety of green tones can be appreciated and where sunlight manages to penetrate, brilliant colors explode in nature's fest of beauty.

The area is considered to be an island within the biosphere due to its isolation and the Baru Volcano's height. Endemic orchid species and unique flora such as the magnolia and giant oak trees, which are between 600 and 900 years old, call this land home. Along the path you'll stumble upon wild bamboo gardens, gigantic, gnarled trees covered with vines and nascent prehistoric looking bromeliads from their trunks. Take your time to really appreciate this hike.

Rates
  Habla Ya Student Rate Normal Rate
Out and Back $50 $55
Boquete to Cerro Punta $75 - $125 $125
Overnight (Boquete to Cerro Punta) $150 $175

* Prices are in US Dollars. The above prices are per person and do not include Panama's 7% ITBMS Sales.

SIGN UP NOW & BOOK YOUR SPANISH IMMERSION COURSE IN PANAMA...
The cloudforest is home to over 250 bird species, some of which include the silky flycatcher, the three-wattled bellbird, several hummingbird varieties and the hairy woodpecker. The Resplendent Quetzal is obviously the star of the list and is more frequently spotted during the dry season, from December to May.
Top of page

Spotting an Elusive Quetzal

With a experimented bird watching guide you have a better chance of spotting a Quetzal

The iridescent green resplendent quetzal is widely considered to be the most beautiful bird in the Americas. Many marvel at a sighting, especially of the male quetzal for his breeding plumage and tail feathers that can reach nearly 0.6m (2 feet). From December to May, the best place to see a Resplendent Quetzal is in the cloud forest of Volcan Baru National Park. As suggested before, starting the Quetzals' Trail around sunrise gives you ample chances of spotting one and you'll have even more possibilities if accompanied by one our bird watching guides who can mimic their noises in order to attract them and search for them in places only known by them. We can also organize a bird-watching tour, focused on spotting quetzals, for those not necessarily interested in hiking the Quetzal Trail.

In our guided tours we have spotted up to 14 quetzals in a single day

The Resplendent Quetzal has its past rooted in the Mixtec, Toltec, Mayan and Aztec culture. Quetzalcoatl, a central figure in Central American indigenous mythology, is depicted as a hybrid of a quetzal and a serpent, born from a feather that landed on his virgin mother. The snake represents the earth and vegetation, but it was in Teotihuacan (actual Mexico City, around 150 BC) where the snake got the precious feathers of the quetzal, as seen in the Murals of the city. The most elaborate representations come from the old Quetzalcoatl Temple around 200 BC, which shows a rattlesnake with the long green feathers of the quetzal. More recently, indigenous peoples in Central America, believing the quetzal unable to survive in captivity, have interpreted it as a symbol of freedom.

Rates
  Habla Ya Student Rate Normal Rate
Out and Back $50 $55
Boquete to Cerro Punta $75 - $125 $125
Cerro Punta to Boquete $75 - $125 $125
Overnight (Boquete to Cerro Punta) $150 $175

* Prices are in US Dollars. The above prices are per person and do not include Panama's 7% ITBMS Sales.

SIGN UP NOW & BOOK YOUR SPANISH IMMERSION PROGRAM IN PANAMA...
The Resplendent Quetzal has been called "the most spectacular bird in the New World" but today it is listed as Appendix I in the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species, meaning that the species is threatened with extinction.
Top of page