Kontakt aufnehmen | Sich anmelden | Bewertungen | Preise & Anfangsdatum | Videos | FAQ | Info | Blog


Natürliche Kletterorte in Chiriqui

Leichter Zugang zu besten Kletterrouten in Panama!

MELDEN SIE SICH FÜR EINE KLETTERTOUR AN... »

Sie sind hier:
Startseite Ökotours Boquete
Klettern in Boquete, Panama

Lust eine fantastische Route zu klettern?

Wir haben Strecken für jeden Kletterer!
Please call me
KONTAKTFORMULAR

Rückruf anfordern

Rufen Sie Uns Heute an!

+507 - 730 - 8344
069 - 2547 - 2686
044 - 585 - 30 - 35
315 - 254 - 2331
020 - 8144 - 2785
09 - 70 - 44 - 52 - 21
08 - 519 - 70 - 304
020 - 894 - 39 - 38
02 - 8007 - 5434
Skype-Nutzer: habla.ya

Kletterrouten & Touren in Chiriqui

Tägliche Klettertouren in Boquete, Panama | $40 - $45 pp

César Meléndez Klettern ein Abschnitt der Gunko Wall at Los Ladrillos in Boquete, Panama

Heute sind mehr als 35 verschiedene Kletter- und Boulder Routen aufgestellt, in "El Gunko", "Maná" und "Paradiso" in Boquete. Unter dem Motto "Redefinieren, was unmöglich ist", begann das Klettern in Boquete, Panama mit 5,3. und 5.5 Strecken, die leicht von Amateuren bestiegen werden konnten. Nachdem unsere Kletterer mehr Erfahrung gewonnen haben, haben sie die Routen weiter entwickelt, und Strecken von 5,9 bis zu 5.13a kreiert (die Schwierigkeit wird nach dem Yosemite Dezimal System gemessen). Die höchste Wand ist 13,10 Meter hoch und ist eine sehr anspruchsvolle Strecke mit einem 4 Meter hohen Dach.

El Gunko ist für Anfänger bis fortgeschrittene Kletterer und verfügt über insgesamt 15 Routen (5,6 - 5.11a). Mana ist für fortgeschrittene Kletterer und hat 7 Routen (5.11a - 5.12d). Und Legacy, mit 6 Routen ist nur für Profi-Bergsteiger (5.10a - 5.13a). Paradiso hat nur 1 Strecke (5.13a). Die folgenden Fotos zeigen diese Bereiche, und die Kletterrouten in Boquete, Panama.



Gunko (Sector A)

Kletterrouten am El Gunko, Sektor A, in Boquete, Panama

Gunko (Sektor B)

Klettern Routen in El Gunko, Sektor B, in Boquete, Panama

Maná Sektor

Klettern Routen an Mana Sector in Boquete, Panama

Paradiso Sektor

Kletterrouten im Paradiso Sector in Boquete, Panama

Legacy-Sektor

Klettern Routes at Legacy Sector in Boquete, Panama

Klettertouren von Vertical Adventures in Boquete, Panama

Jeder Klettertour beinhaltet eine kurze Aufwärmung und eine ausführliche Sicherheitseinweisung. Bergsteiger die bereits Erfahrung haben, können 3 Stunden lang alle Strecken ihrer Wahl klettern. Anfängern wird vorgeschlagen spezifische Routen zu probieren, je nach ihren physikalischen Eigenschaften und Alter.

Ihnen wird alles was sie wissen müssen erklärt werden, aber wenn Sie tiefere Kenntnisse dieser Extremsportart erwerben möchten, empfehlen wir einen Kletterkurs in dem Sie die Techniken des Kletterns und Abseilens auf Fels und Brücken lernen, sowie eine vollständige Erklärung der Ausrüstung.



 
Habla Ya Studentenpreis
Normaler Preis
Kletter-Tour $40 pro Person $45 pro Person
3 Tage Paket $105 pro Person $125 pro Person
5 Tage Paket $155 pro Person $195 pro Person

* Die oben genannten Preise beinhalten nicht Panamas 7% Mehrwertsteuer.

REGISTRIEREN SIE SICH FÜR EINE KLETTERTOUR IN BOQUETE, PANAMA... »

Wandern + Abseilen | $60 - $65 pp

Boquete ist für ihre Wanderwege bekannt, und in dieser Tour werden Sie zuerst etwa 2,5 Stunden durch den Nebelwald an mehreren Kaffeeplantagen vorbei wandern bis Sie den Piedra de Lino Fels erreichen. Von dort aus können Sie eine atemberaubende Sicht über das Tal Boquete genießen, und anschließend werden Sie etwa 60 Meter abseilen. Dieser Ausflug endet mit einer kurzen Wanderung durch den Nebelwald von Boquete.

Wandern und Abseilen Circuit in Boquete, Panama

Diese Tour dauert ca. 4 Stunden insgesamt, und enthält: Den Klettergurt, Schlingen, Seile, Helm, Abseilgeräte, professionelle Führung und den Transport.

 
Habla Ya Studentenpreis
Normaler Preis
Wandern + Abseilen $60 pro Person $65 pro Person

REGISTRIEREN SIE SICH FÜR EINE WANDERN & ABSEIL-TOUR IN BOQUETE, PANAMA... »

Klettertour mit mehreren Seillängen | $60 - $65 pp

Erleben Sie das Gefühl der Freiheit durch Wandern, Abseilen und Klettern bei einer 1690 Meter Höhe über dem Meeresspiegel. Sie werden mit einer 30 - 45 minütigen Wanderung beginnen, die durch eine Kaffee-Farm leitet, bis Sie den oberen Teil einer wunderschönen natürlichen Felsformation die als Piedra de Lino bekannt ist erreichen, von wo aus Sie einen unglaublichen Blick auf den Pazifischen Ozean bewundern können. Anschließend werden Sie die Klippe abseilen und eine unserer schönen Mehrseillängenstrecken klettern. Diese Tour ist nur für intermediäre Kletterer (5.11a) und Fortgeschrittene (5.12a). Die Höhen der 2 Strecken variieren zwischen 30 m und 50 m, und jede Strecke hat 2 Seillängen, die durch Vorsteigen oder Toprope geklettert werden kann.

Klettern die Lino Rock in Boquete, Panama

Diese Tour dauert ca. 4 Stunden insgesamt und beinhaltet den Transport (Hin-und Rückfahrt), einen professionellen Führer, den Klettergurt, Kletterschuhe, das Expressset, Abseilgeräte, Seile, Sicherungsgeräte und Kreide.

 
Habla Ya Studentenpreis
Normaler Preis
Mehrseillänge $60 pro Person $65 pro Person

REGISTRIEREN SIE SICH JETZT FÜR EINEN MULTI-PITCH Klettertour IN BOQUETE, PANAMA... »

Wasser Solo Bouldern | $60 - $65 pp

Los Cangilones de Gualaca ist eine beeindruckende Felsformation durch die die Strömungen des Esti Fluss fließen. Jahrhunderte des fließenden Wassers haben diesen unglaublichen Spielplatz für Bouldern und Wasser Solo-Enthusiasten formiert.

Wasser Solo Bouldern in Los Cangilones de Gualaca in Chiriqui, Panama

In dieser Tour klettern Sie auf 4 bis 5 Meter hohe Felsformationen, die über tiefem Wasser liegen. Die Cangilones sind 45 Fahrminuten von Boquete entfernt. Diese Tour umfasst den Transport hin und zurück, Ihr Profi Kletterführer, Kletterschuhe und Kreide.

 
Habla Ya Studentenpreis
Normaler Preis
Wasser-Solo Bouldern $60 pro Person $65 pro Person

* Die oben genannten Preise beinhalten nicht Panamas 7% Mehrwertsteuer.

REGISTRIEREN SIE SICH JETZT FÜR EINEN WATER SOLO BOULDERING TOUR IN BOQUETE, PANAMA... »

Alle Kletterorte befinden sich innerhalb von Ländereien die der örtlichen Gemeinde gehören und durch staatliche Behörden wie ATP (Autoridad del Turismo de Panama) und Anam (Autoridad Nacional del Medio Ambiente) geschützt sind. Wenn Sie bereits klettern können und Ihre eigene Kletterausrüstung haben, können Sie einen 3-Tages-Pass sowie weitere Informationen zu diesen Standorten für $35 erwerben. Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns um Ihren Pass zu bekommen.

Zum Seitenanfang



Kletterkurse

Grundkurs Niveau 1 - Sicherungs- & Klettertechnik, $195 pp

3 Tage Kurs (3 Stunden pro Tag) oder 1 ganzer Tag von 7.00 Uhr bis 17.00 Uhr

Tag 1:

Tag 2:

Tag 3:

REGISTRIEREN SIE SICH JETZT FÜR EINE KLETTERTOUR IN BOQUETE, PANAMA... »

Fortgeschrittene Anfänger-Kurs (Stufe 2) - Eine Route vorsteigen, $185 pp

3 Tage Kurs (3 Stunden pro Tag) oder 1 ganzer Tag von 7.00 Uhr bis 17.00 Uhr

Tag 1:

Tag 2:

Tag 3:

REGISTRIEREN SIE SICH JETZT FÜR EINEN FORTGESCHRITTENEN KLETTERKURS IN BOQUETE, PANAMA... »

Fortgeschrittener Kurs (Stufe 3) - Mehrere Seilgänge, $175 pp

2 Tage Kurs (4 Stunden pro Tag) oder 1 ganzer Tag von 7.00 Uhr bis 16.00 Uhr

Tag 1:

Tag 2:

REGISTRIEREN SIE SICH JETZT FÜR EINEN FORTGESCHRITTENEN KLETTERKURS IN BOQUETE, PANAMA... »

 
Preis
Anfängerkurs - St 1, Kletter- & Sicherungstechniken $195 pro Person
Kletterkurs für fortgeschrittene Anfänger - Stufe 2, Vorsteigen $185 pro Person
Fortgeschrittener Kletterkurs - Stufe 3, Mehrseilgänge $175 pro Person

* Die oben genannten Preise beinhalten nicht Panamas 7% Mehrwertsteuer.

REGISTRIEREN SIE SICH FÜR EINE KLETTERTOUR IN BOQUETE, PANAMA... »

Zu jeder Zeit werden Sie von einem professionellen Führer unterstützt, der Ihre Sicherheit durch entsprechender Beratung gewährleistet. Ihr Leieter wird auch als " Sicherungsmann" für Sie zu jeder Zeit beistehen, und somit garantieren, dass Sie nicht herunterfallen, auch wenn Sie den Griff völlig verlieren. Helme werden zu jeder Zeit getragen, um vollständige Sicherheit zu gewährleisten. Am Ende eines jeden Aufstiegs werden Kletterer in der Lage sein alleine abzuseilen, oder mit Hilfe eines zertifizierten Führers wieder nach unten zu kommen.

Zum Seitenanfang



Mehr über das Klettern

Eine Extreme Sportart für Körper und Seele

Eine der anspruchsvollen Routen auf der Kletterwand in Boquete, Panama

Wie bei jeder anderen Extremsportart, ist das Klettern ein Abenteuer Sport, der vom menschlichen Instinkt stammt. Als Menschen haben den Wunsch, Herausforderungen zu erobern. Warum eine Wand erklettern? Warum denn nicht? Ganz einfach...

Für diejenigen, die nicht mit dem Klettern vertraut sind: Es ist eine Extremsportart, wobei die Teilnehmer Felsen/Wände durch eine Sequenz von gymnastischen Manövern erklettern, um die Oberseite einer Wand auf die effizienteste Weise zu erreichen. Ein fokussierter Geist und Verstand sind ausgewogene Attribute eines guten Kletterers. Es ist nicht nur eine körperliche Herausforderung, sondern erfordert ebenso eine mentale Kontrolle und tiefe Konzentration.

Klettern erfordert Beweglichkeit und Gleichgewicht neben Kraft und Ausdauer. Geduld, Schnelligkeit, Entschlossenheit und Mut sind die Tugenden eines erfahrenen Bergsteigers. Die Kenntnis der Klettertechnik und die Verwendung von ätherischen Geräten und Ausrüstungen sind von entscheidender Bedeutung beim Klettern einer schwierigen Strecke. Ein hohes Maß an Wachsamkeit und Leistungsfähigkeit, um Bewegungen vorherzusagen sind auch wichtige Besonderheiten eines erfolgreichen Kletterers.

Kletterausrüstung

Saftey Gesamtmaße und gepflegt Gang für Rock verwendet Klettern in Boquete

Risiken im Klettern werden stark reduziert wenn alle notwendigen Geräte verwendet werden, und alle Anweisungen des Führers sorgfältig befolgt werden. Im Sportklettern sind Kletterer an der Wand mit Metall Bolzen gesichert. Die Bolzen sind an den Felsen entweder mit speziellen Schrauben aus der Baubranche fixiert, oder durch gesicherte Leim-Schraubensysteme. Kletterer sind durch einen Sicherheitsmann vom Stürzen geschützt.

Top Klettern bedeutet, dass man an einem Seil von einem an der Spitze befestigten Bolzen verankert ist um eine kleine Stecke zu besteigen. Der Kletterer wird dann durch den Sicherheitsmann vom Seil von unten gesichert. Klettern in El Gunko in Boquete kann als Bouldern beschrieben werden, wo kurze, schwere Routen aufgestellt sind.

Nachdem Sie die Spitze erreicht haben, können Kletterer selber wieder abseilen, oder mit Hilfe des Sicherheitsmannes wieder herunterkommen. In jedem Fall wird der Sicherheitsmann den Kletterer beschützen. Rappelling oder Abseilen ist eine gängige Methode um zurück auf den Boden zu kommen.

REGISTRIEREN SIE SICH FÜR EINE KLETTERTOUR IN BOQUETE, PANAMA... »

Die Kletterausrüstung enthält dynamische Seile, Gurte, Express-Schlingen, Unterlänge, Schließfächer, Karabiner, Helme, Schuhe etc. Speziell entwickelte Schuhe (Katzenschuhe) werden verwendet, um die Griffigkeit des Fußes auf der Oberfläche der Felsen zu erhöhen.

Zum Seitenanfang



Panamas erstes Kletterunternehmen

Vertical Adventures in Boquete gegründet und ist Panamas erster Klettern Unternehmen

Nachdem César mehrere Jahre als Amateur geklettert hat, reiste er im Jahr 2006 in die Vereinigten Staaten, um Boquete bei mehreren Kletterwettbewerben als Kletter-Bestimmungsort zu fördern,. Dort hat er ein professionelles Training bekommen, und somit den Grad eines Kletter Instruktoren und Ausrüstungsverwalter vom YMCA in Florida's First Coast in Jacksonville, USA bekommen. Diese Zertifizierung beinhaltet die 6 Stufen eines zertifizierten Kletterers (Sicherheitsmann, Ausruestungsverwalter, Klettertechnik, Abseiltechnik, Bolting und Kletter Instruktor).

Vor seiner Reise in die Vereinigten Staaten hatte César Meléndez bereits eine ehemalige Kletterausbildung von ausländischen Bergsteigern die Boquete besucht hatten, die Abseil-Kurse vom nationalen Feuerwehr und Rettungs-Team genommen hatten.

Andere Kletterer sind dem Unternehmen "Boquete Climb Adventure" beigetreten, und bereichern das Team mit ihren Erfahrungen aus den USA, Europa und Südamerika. Die internationale Erfahrung und die Vision dieser neuen Mitglieder waren ein riesiger Katalysator für das nationale und internationale Bergsteigen, und alpine Projekte.

REGISTRIEREN SIE SICH FÜR EINE KLETTERTOUR IN BOQUETE, PANAMA... »

Mit diesen Zertifizierungen konnte César andere Kletterführer trainieren, neue Strecken aufbauen, und die Sicherheit beim Klettern in Panama und Boquete deutlich verbessern.


Add This
Zu den Favoriten hinzufügen oder die Seite teilen...

Zum Seitenanfang

Get 1 Week of Free Spanish Lessons you book 3 Weeks or more

Contact Us | Sign Up & Register Now | Reviews | Prices & Start Dates | Videos | FAQs | Info | Blog


Natural Rock Climbing Sites in Chiriqui

Ease of access to Panama's best rock climbing routes!

SIGN UP NOW TO LEARN SPANISH IN BOQUETE... »

You are here:
Home Eco-Tours Boquete
Rock Climbing

Ready to climb some fantastic routes?

We have routes for every climber!
Contact Us
fill out our CONTACT FORM

Request a Quote

Call Us Today!

+507 - 730 - 8344
315 - 254 - 2331
020 - 8144 - 2785
069 - 2547 - 2686
044 - 585 - 30 - 35
09 - 70 - 44 - 52 - 21
08 - 519 - 70 - 304
020 - 894 - 39 - 38
02 - 8007 - 5434
Skype user: habla.ya

Rock Climbing Routes & Tours in Chiriqui

Daily Rock Climbing Tour in Boquete, Panama | $40 - $45 pp

César Meléndez climbing a section of the Gunko Wall at Los Ladrillos in Boquete, Panama

Today more than 35 different routes have been setup for bouldering and rock climbing at "El Gunko" , "Maná" , "Paradiso" and "Legacy" in Boquete. Under the motto of "redefining what's impossible" , Rock Climbing started out in the district of Boquete, Panama with 5.3. and 5.5 routes that could easily be climbed by amateurs. After building up their skills and gaining more experience they have continued to push the level and now routes from 5.9 all the way up to 5.13a have been established (difficulty measured according to the Yosemite Decimal System). The highest wall is 30 meters tall and there is a very challenging route with a 4 meter roof.

El Gunko is for basic to intermediate climbers and has a total of 15 routes (5.6 - 5.11a). Mana is for advanced climbers and has 7 routes (5.11a - 5.12d). And Legacy with 6 routes is for elite climbers (5.10a - 5.13a). Paradiso only has 1 route (5.13a). The following photos illustrate these sectors and rock climbing routes currently available in Boquete, Panama.


Gunko (Sector A)

Rock Climbing Routes at El Gunko, Sector A, in Boquete, Panama

Gunko (Sector B)

Rock Climbing Routes at El Gunko, Sector B, in Boquete, Panama

Maná Sector

Rock Climbing Routes at Mana Sector in Boquete, Panama

Paradiso Sector

Rock Climbing Routes at Paradiso Sector in Boquete, Panama

Legacy Sector

Rock Climbing Routes at Legacy Sector in Boquete, Panama

Rock Climbing Tours by Vertical Adventures in Boquete, Panama

Each rock climbing tour includes a short warm-up and detailed safety briefing. Rock climbers with previous experience will be given 3 hours to climb any amount of routes of their own choice. Those new to rock climbing will be suggested different routes taking into account physical characteristics and age.

First timers will be explained everything they need to know, but if you are looking for a more extensive knowledge of this extreme sport, rock climbing courses are offered and you will be shown rock climbing techniques and rappelling in rock and in bridges, and you will receive a complete explanation of the equipment and gear used in rock climbing and rappelling.

 
Habla Ya Student Price
Non Student Price
Rock Climbing Tour $40 per person $45 per person
3 Package Rock Climbing Tour $105 per person $125 per person
5 Package Rock Climbing Tour $155 per person $195 per person

* The above prices do not include Panama's 7% ITBMS Sales Tax.

SIGN UP NOW & BOOK YOUR SPANISH IMMERSION VACATION IN PANAMA... »

Hiking + Rappelling Circuit | $60 - $65 pp

Boquete is famous for its hiking trails and in this tour you will get the opportunity to hike for about 2.5 - 3 hours through Boquete's cloudforest, pass by several coffee, agricultural and cattle farms, and finally reach the Piedra de Lino Rock, from where you will enjoy a majestic view of the valley of Boquete and descend by rappell about 60 meters of volcanic rock. This excursion ends with a short hike, again through Boquete's cloud forest.

Hiking and Rappelling Circuit in Boquete, Panama

This tour takes about 4 hours in total, and includes everything you need: climbing harness, slings, ropes, helmet, rappelling devices, professional guide and roundtrip transportation to site.

 
Habla Ya Student Price
Non Student Price
Hiking + Rappelling Tour $60 per person $65 per person

SIGN UP NOW & BOOK YOUR SPANISH IMMERSION VACATION IN PANAMA... »

Multi-Pitch Rock Climbing Tour | $60 - $65 pp

Experience the ultimate sense of freedom by hiking, rappelling and climbing at 1690 meters above sea level. You'll start with a 30 - 45 minute hike (level 3) through a coffee farm until you reach the top of a beautiful natural rock formation known as Piedra de Lino from where you'll admire incredible views of the Pacific Ocean. Then you'll rappel down the cliff and climb any of our beautiful multi-pitch routes. This tour is Intermediate (5.11a) and advanced levels (5.12a) only. The 2 routes heights vary between 30 m and 50 m, and each route has 2 pitches, which can be climbed by lead or top rope.

Rock Climbing the Lino Rock in Boquete, Panama

This tour lasts about 4 hours in total and includes roundtrip transportation to site, professional guide, climbing harness, climbing shoes, quick draws, rappelling devices, ropes, belay devices and chalk.

 
Habla Ya Student Price
Non Student Price
Multi-Pitch Rock Climbing Tour $60 per person $65 per person

SIGN UP NOW & BOOK YOUR SPANISH IMMERSION VACATION IN PANAMA... »

Water Solo Bouldering | $60 - $65 pp

Los Cangilones de Gualaca is a stunning natural rock formation carved by the currents of the Estí River. Centuries and centuries of flowing water have created the most incredible playground for bouldering and water solo enthusiasts.

Water Solo Bouldering at Los Cangilones de Gualaca in Chiriqui, Panama

In this tour you will be climbing rocky formations 4 - 5 meters high over deep water protection. The Cangilones are located about a 45 minute drive from Boquete. This tour includes transportation to the site, your professional rock climbing guide, climbing shoes and chalk.

 
Habla Ya Student Price
Non Student Price
Water Solo Bouldering Tour $60 per person $65 per person

* The above prices do not include Panama's 7% ITBMS Sales Tax.

SIGN UP NOW & BOOK YOUR SPANISH IMMERSION VACATION IN PANAMA... »

All the areas for climbing are located within lands owned by the local Municipality and protected by government authorities such as ATP (Autoridad de Turismo en Panama) and ANAM (Autoridad Nacional del Medio Ambiente). If you already know to climb and have your own climbing gear, a 3 day access pass and more information about these rock climbing sites can be granted for $35. You are welcome to contact us to get your pass.

Top of page



Rock Climbing Courses

Basic Course (Level 1) – Safe Belay & Climbing Techniques, $195 pp

3 day course (3 hours per day), or 1 full day from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Day 1

Day 2

Day 3

SIGN UP NOW & BOOK YOUR SPANISH IMMERSION VACATION IN PANAMA... »

Intermediate Course (Level 2) – Lead Climbing, $185 pp

3 day course (3 hours per day), or 1 full day from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Day 1

Day 2

Day 3

SIGN UP NOW & BOOK YOUR SPANISH IMMERSION VACATION IN PANAMA... »

Advanced Course (Level 3) – Multiple Pitch Climbing, $175 pp

2 day course (4 hours per day), or 1 full day from 7 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Day 1

Day 2

SIGN UP NOW & BOOK YOUR SPANISH IMMERSION VACATION IN PANAMA... »

 
Price
Basic Rock Climbing Course - Level 1, Safe Belay & Climbing Techniques $195 per person
Intermediate Rock Climbing Course - Level 2, Lead Climbing $185 per person
Advanced Rock Climbing Course - Level 3, Multiple Pitch Climbing $175 per person

* The above prices do not include Panama's 7% ITBMS Sales Tax.

SIGN UP NOW & BOOK YOUR SPANISH IMMERSION VACATION IN PANAMA... »

At all times you will be assisted by a professional guide, ensuring your safety with appropriate advice and he will also act as a "belayer" for you at all times, guaranteeing that you do not fall down even if you completely lose grip of the wall. Helmets are worn at all times to ensure complete safety. At the end of each ascent, climbers will be able to rappel their way down or can descend with the help of a certified guide.

Top of page



More about Rock Climbing

An Extreme Sport for the Body & Soul

One of the more challenging routes at the rock climbing wall in Boquete, Panama

As with any other extreme sport, rock climbing is an adventure sport that originated from human's nature. As humans, we have the desire to face and conquer challenges. Why climb the wall? Because it is there! As simple as that...

For those not familiar with rock climbing, it is an extreme sport that involves ascending steep rock formations through a sequence of gymnastic maneuvers in order to reach the top of a wall using the body's energy in the most efficient way. A focused spirit and balanced mind are attributes of a good rock climber. It is not only a physical challenge, but as well involves mental control and profound concentration.

Rock climbing requires agility and balance in addition to strength and endurance. Patience, speed, determination and courage are virtues found in an experienced climber. Knowledge of climbing techniques and the use of essential pieces of gear and equipment are crucial when climbing a difficult route. A high degree of alertness and capacity to predict consequences of movements are also key features to successful rock climbing.

Rock Climbing Gear & Equipment

Saftey meassures and well maintained gear is used for rock climbing in Boquete

Risks in sport climbing are greatly reduced if all the necessary equipment is used as it is intended to be used and instructions given by guides carefully followed. In sport climbing, climbers are secured to the wall using metal loops called bolts. Bolts are secured to the rock with either expanding masonry bolts taken from the construction industry, or by placing glue-in bolt systems. Climbers are protected from falling by a belayer.

Top rope climbing involves suspending a rope from an anchor located at the top of a short climb. The climber is then safeguarded by his belayer who holds the rope at the base of the climb. Rock climbing at el Gunko in Boquete can be described as bouldering as short, severe routes are setup.

After reaching the top, climbers can rappel back down by themselves or descend with the help of their belayer. In either case the belayer will be securing the climber. Rappelling or abseiling is a common method for returning to the bottom of a completed climb by descending on a fixed rope.

SIGN UP NOW & BOOK YOUR SPANISH IMMERSION VACATION IN PANAMA... »

Climbing equipment and gear includes dynamic ropes, harnesses, quickdraws, descenders, lockers, carabiners, helmets, etc. Specifically designed footwear, known as cat shoes, is used for rock climbing and increases the grip of the foot to the rock surface due to friction.

Top of page



About Panama's 1st Rock Climbing Company

Video about the History of Rock Climbing in Boquete, Panama

Vertical Adventures founded in Boquete is Panama's first rock climbing company

After rock climbing for several years as an amateur, in 2006 César traveled to the United States to promote Boquete as a rock climbing destination by competing in several rock climbing competitions. Wisely enough he also made the most out of it by receiving professional training and received the degree of Rock Climber Instructor and Equipment Manager from the YMCA of Florida's First Coast in Jacksonville, U.S.A. This certification includes the 6 levels of a certified climber (belay safe certification, equipment management, climbing technique, rappel technique, bolting and rock climbing instructor).

Before traveling to the United States, César Meléndez had already received rock climbing training from international rock climbers that had visited Boquete and taken rappelling courses given by the national fire department and rescue team.

Other climbers have joined Boquete Climb Adventure enriching the team with their experience gained when climbing in the US, Europe and South America. The international experience and vision of these new members have given the team a major catalyst for national multipitch routes and international rock climbing and alpine projects.

SIGN UP NOW & BOOK YOUR SPANISH IMMERSION VACATION IN PANAMA... »

With these certifications César has been able to train other guides, setup new routes and has added a new degree of safety to rock climbing in Boquete and Panama.


Add This
Bookmark or share this page...

Top of page