Contactez-nous | Inscrivez-vous | Dates et prix | Vidéos | FAQ | Infos pratiques | Blog


La forêt montagneuse de Boquete a tout!

Quetzals, volcans, chutes d'eau, faune, vues panoramiques!

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS POUR UNE RANDONNÉE A BOQUETE... »

Vous êtes ici:
Accueil Eco-tours Boquete
Randonnées

Boquete est le paradis des randonneurs...

Nous avons le sentier parfait pour vous!
Please call me
Remplissez notre FORMULAIRE

Demandez un devis

Appelez-nous!

+507 - 730 - 8344
315 - 254 - 2331
09 - 70 - 44 - 52 - 21
044 - 585 - 30 - 35
069 - 2547 - 2686
020 - 8144 - 2785
08 - 519 - 70 - 304
020 - 894 - 39 - 38
02 - 8007 - 5434
Utilisateur Skype: habla.ya

Site submenu:

La plupart des sentiers au Panama ne sont pas maintenus, et il n'y a pas de signalisation. Ne tentez pas de faire une randonnée sans guide. Vous risquez de vous perdre, et de mettre votre vie en danger. Les courants des rivières, les précipices, les nuits froides en montagne et d'autres dangers de la nature sont des risques que vous ne devriez pas prendre à la légère. S'il vous plaît faites de la randonnée avec un guide certifié d'une entreprise digne de confiance.

Sentiers de randonnées à Boquete

 
Niveau de difficulté
Longueur
(environ)
Durée de la randonnée
(Environ)
Actuellement accessible
Peña Blanca (Rocher Blanc) Facile 4.5 km 3 - 4 heures Oui
Piedra de Lino (Lino Rock) Modéré 3 km 3.5 - 4,5 heures Oui
La Artillería (La Forteresse) Modéré 5 km 3.5 - 4,5 heures Non
La Novia de la Montaña (La Dame de la Montagne) Modéré 4 km 3.5 - 4,5 heures Non
El Pianista (Le Pianiste) Modéré 5 km 4 - 5 heures Oui
Senderos en el PILA
(Randonnées au Parque Internacional de la Amistad)
Modéré 6 km 4 - 5 heures Oui
Quetzals Trail (Sentier de los Quetzales) Modéré 9.6 km 5 - 7 heures Oui
Sentier Culebra (Sentier du serpent) Difficile 18 km 6 - 8 heures Oui
Volcan Baru (Volcan Baru) Difficile 27 km 10 - 14 heures Oui

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS MAINTENANT ET RÉSERVEZ VOS RANDONNÉES A BOQUETE... »

Les prix sont par personne et n'incluent pas la taxe de vente de 7% du Panama. Chaque randonnée nécessite un minimum de 2 personnes pour faire une réservation. Le mieux serait que vous nous informiez de ce que vous aimeriez découvrir (niveau de difficulté, faune, observation des oiseaux, cascades, vues panoramiques, demi-journée ou journée complète) et nous choisirons le meilleur sentier pour vous en tenant compte de la période de l'année, du temps qu'il fera, et de quels sentiers sont accessibles à ce moment-là (certains sont à l'intérieur de propriétés privées).

Chute d'eau à la fin du sentier de randonnée White Rock à Boquete, Panama

Peña Blanca (Rocher Blanc) - $30 - $35pp

Ce sentier est situé dans la région de Bajo Mono à l'intérieur d'une propriété privée appartenant à la famille Landau, l'une des familles fondatrices de Boquete.

Ce sentier White Rock vous offre de très bonnes chances de repérer le resplendissant Quetzal, des paresseux, des singes hurleurs ainsi que de nombreux autres oiseaux et animaux. C'est l'une des randonnées les plus faciles à Boquete car le terrain est pratiquement plat de sorte qu'il est non seulement un excellent choix si votre priorité est de vous approcher de la faune, mais il est également idéal pour les familles avec enfants ou ceux qui recherchent une randonnée moins ardue.

La majeure partie de cette randonnée traverse la forêt de nuages de Boquete, bien que vous passerez également plusieurs terrains agricoles au début du chemin. A la fin du parcours, vous atteindrez une petite cascade qui donne son nom à cette piste: au sommet de la cascade il y a beaucoup de rochers blancs!

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS MAINTENANT ET RÉSERVEZ VOS RANDONNÉES A BOQUETE... »

Randonnée à travers une plantation de café sur le chemin jusqu'à la Piedra de Lino à Boquete, Panama

Piedra de Lino (Lino Rock) - $30 - $35pp

Cette randonnée, bien que courte, est plus difficile que le reste des randonnées d'une demie-journée car la pente est assez raide!

Vous commencez à environ 1300 mètres d'altitude et terminez à environ 1800 mètres pour atteindre une plate-forme magnifique, connue sous le nom Lino Rock, et qui offre une vue splendide sur la vallée de Boquete (vous pouvez aussi descendre ce rocher en rappel). La majeure partie de la randonnée passe à travers une plantation de café typique (Boquete est célèbre pour son café), et uniquement la toute dernière partie du chemin traverse la forêt de nuages.

Un must si vous voulez apprécier la meilleure vue sur la ville de Boquete (une occasion pour des photos parfaites), ou si vous voulez tester votre condition physique pour des randonnées plus ardues et plus longues.

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS MAINTENANT ET RÉSERVEZ VOS RANDONNÉES A BOQUETE... »

Au sommet de La Artilleria Randonnée à Boquete, Panama

La Artilleria (La Forteresse) - $40 - $45pp

Une autre randonnée courte mais très enrichissante qui vous emmène à travers les terres agricoles, la forêt nuageuse, et vous conduit finalement à une formation de roche volcanique impressionnante (sous laquelle se trouve une petite grotte) d'où vous pourrez profiter d'une vue dégagée sur l'océan Pacifique et le Volcan Baru. Certains disent que cette randonnée offre la meilleure vue panoramique de Boquete, et nous n'allons pas nier cette affirmation.

Beaucoup de récits entourent ce site, car il était censé être utilisé pour stocker les armes des troupes autochtones. Ce sentier est situé dans la partie orientale de la vallée de Boquete à 1700 mètres environ au dessus du niveau de la mer, dans une zone connue sous le nom de Alto Jaramillo. Certainement une randonnée à ne pas manquer!

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS MAINTENANT ET RÉSERVEZ VOS RANDONNÉES A BOQUETE... »

La Novia de la Montaña (La Dame de la Montagne) - $30 - $35 pp

Atteindre la cascade à la fin de La Novia de la Montaña Randonnée à Boquete, Panama

La Novia de la Montaña est une randonnée courte dans la partie nord de Boquete, dans la région de Orqueta. Ce sentier secret, qui est modéré sur notre échelle de difficulté (le changement d'altitude est seulement de 200 mètres mais certains passages peuvent être assez raides), est une aventure qui offre un peu de tout. Il commence avec une belle vue panoramique sur les montagnes et les fermes aux alentours de Boquete. Plus loin, le chemin vous mènera à travers un espace ouvert avec des arbres des deux côtés, le rendant idéal pour les ornithologues, et le célèbre et insaisissable Quetzal peut y être repéré assez souvent. D'autres espèces d'oiseaux incluent les Pinsons, Tangaras, Colibris, Rossignols, Trogons, Tucancillos, Viréos, Charpentiers, sans oublier les mammifères qui sont typiques de cette région, comme le paresseux à 2 doigts, le singe hurleur, le singe capucin, et l'écureuil à queue rouge, entre autres.

Une fois que vous entrez dans la forêt montagneuse humide, vous avez la possibilité de voir des arbres immenses de plusieurs fois centenaires, et une grandes variété de fleurs et orchidées panaméennes uniques, ainsi que des plantes médicinales utilisées dans le traitement du cancer. Parmi de nombreuses espèces d'arbres, on peut y trouver les sangrillos, jaules, lauriers, chênes, mamecillos, pins, cyprès, guarumos et une grande variété de plantes, y compris des piperaceas, des broméliacées, des orchidées, helechos, héliconias, etc

N'oubliez pas d'apporter de bonnes chaussures de marche (ou nous pouvons vous prêter des bottes) parce que vous allez vous salir! La forêt est humide et boueuse, et dans certaines régions le sentier devient très raide, ce qui le rend d'autant plus difficile en comparaison à d'autres randonnées à Boquete. Et apportez votre maillot de bain si vous osez vous baigner! A la fin de la randonnée, vous arriverez à une chute d'eau d'environ 15 mètres de haut. Nous l'appelons «la dame de la montagne" parce que vous pouvez voir le visage d'une femme dans les rochers - certains disent que vous pouvez voir de nombreux visages. Il y a même un ancien autel cérémoniel en face de la cascade qui vous fait sentir que vous êtes dans un lieu sacré avec une histoire mystérieuse. La tradition veut que chaque personne qui parcourt ce chemin se baigne dans la piscine de la cascade. L'eau y est froide, nous n'allons pas vous mentir, mais cela vaut vraiment la peine et vous garanti que vous vous sentirez en vie!

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS MAINTENANT ET RÉSERVEZ VOS RANDONNÉES A BOQUETE... »

Sentier El Pianista (Le Pianiste) - $30 - $35 pp

Description à venir.

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS MAINTENANT ET RÉSERVEZ VOS RANDONNÉES A BOQUETE... »

El Parque Internacional La Amistad et de plusieurs de ses sentiers de randonnée sont plus facilement accessibles de Cerro Punta

Randonnées PILA - $75 -$95pp (Marche) | $175 pp (Marche + Camping)

Parque Internacional La Amistad est un site du patrimoine mondial partagé entre le Panama et le Costa Rica. Les plantes et la vie animale du parc sont parmi les plus diversifiées du pays. Les forêts varient de terres bassess tropicales à subalpines, et une grande partie de la végétation est vierge. Cinq des six espèces de félins d'Amérique centrale (le jaguar, le puma, l'ocelot, jaguarundi et margay) y sont toujours présentes, ainsi que le tapir Bairds qui est en voie de disparition.

Seulement 3% du PILA est située dans la province de Chiriqui, mais cette partie du parc est la plus facile d'accès (à partir des hauts plateaux de Cerro Punta). Une série de sentiers part de la station des gardiens du parc et vous emprunterez deux d'entre eux dans cette randonnée.

Vous commencerez la randonnée avec le Sentier El Retoño, un chemin facile sur 2 km en boucle regorgeant de beauté naturelle et tout simplement parfait pour observer les oiseaux. Essentiellement plat, ce chemin vous emmène à travers la forêt montagneuse luxuriante, passant de petits ponts enjambant des torrents sauvages, et dans un tunnel formé par des bambous inclinés.

Après la randonnée du sentier El Retoño, vous aborderez le sentier La Cascada, une randonnée de 4 km qui vous mène à une crête avec des points de vue sur la vallée, et une cascade spectaculaire. Il s'agit d'une randonnée de 2 km pour monter à la cascade, avec une montée d'environ 300 mètres (à partir de 2180 m). Le long du parcours, vous rencontrerez trois «miradors» (plates-formes d'observation) avec une vue panoramique sur les montagnes et les vallées. Ceux qui souhaite un défi un peu plus important peuvent revenir un peu sur leurs pas et continuer par un autre sentier durant environ 2 heures, d'où vous pourrez voir les Caraïbes par temps clair.

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS MAINTENANT ET RÉSERVEZ VOS RANDONNÉES A BOQUETE... »

Quetzal resplendissant dans le parc national du volcan Baru

Le Sentier des Quetzals - $50 - $55pp (Aller/Retour) | $75 -$125pp (journée complète) | $175 pp (journée complète + camping)

Considéré comme l'un des chemins les plus beaux en Amérique centrale, le sentier des Quetzals est sans aucun doute la randonnée la plus populaire dans les hauts territoires de l'Ouest du Panama. Situé dans le parc national du volcan Baru, le «Sendero de los Quetzales" relie la ville de Guadalupe, qui est près de Cerro Punta sur le côté ouest du volcan, à la ville de Boquete qui est sur son pan est. Le sentier longe le volcan Baru sur sa face nord et peut être parcouru dans les deux sens, à partir de Boquete et se terminant à Cerro Punta, ou vice versa.

Marcher les 9.6 km (distance totale de 6 miles) de ce chemin peut prendre entre 4 et 7 heures. Les fluctuations du temps dépendent de la vitesse de randonnée, de la direction choisie pour effectuer la randonnée (montée ou descente), du temps passé à contempler le paysage et le temps investi pour "traquer" l'un des oiseaux les plus splendides qui donne son nom à ce sentier: le resplendissant Quetzal. Pour plus d'informations sur la randonnée du sentier des Quetzals, cliquez ici...

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS MAINTENANT ET RÉSERVEZ VOS RANDONNÉES A BOQUETE... »

Culebra Trail (le chemin du Serpent) - $50 - $55pp (journée complète) | Contactez-nous pour un devis sur le circuit complet

Ce sentier de randonnée a été utilisé pendant des siècles pour aller à Bocas del Toro, mais aujourd'hui, tout le monde prend le bus ou voyage en voiture sur Cordillère, et le chemin n'est plus du tout maintenu. La randonnée peut durer entre 5 et 7 jours, et ceci ne devrait être tenté que durant la saison sèche (décembre à avril). Pendant le reste de l'année, en fonction du volume des précipitations, vous pourrez marcher jusqu'au fossé continental, mais le chemin sera extrêmement boueux et difficile.

Vous aurez la chance de découvrir la forêt montagneuse à son comble, avec beaucoup d'animaux, d'oiseaux et de plantes... Le rêve du naturaliste!

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS MAINTENANT ET RÉSERVEZ VOS RANDONNÉES A BOQUETE... »

Randonnée au Volcan Baru - $95 pp (journée complète) | $150 - $175 pp (randonnée avec camping)

Contempler le lever du soleil après la randonnée vers le sommet du volcan Baru

A 3475 mètres d'altitude (11.400 pieds), "el Volcan Baru" est le point culminant du Panama. La randonnée jusqu'au sommet est un total de 13,5 km depuis la station du garde forestier, et peut être complétée en une seule journée ou en campant pour la nuit.

Ce volcan endormi est situé juste au sud du fossé continental dans la province occidentale de Chiriqui. Les villes de Volcan, Cerro Punta et Guadalupe se trouvent sur son pan ouest, tandis que Boquete est sur le pan est. Le sol volcanique fertile drainé par la rivière Chiriqui et Caldera, et le climat de la région en font l'une des régions agricoles les plus productives du Panama.

Le Volcan Baru est situé à peu près à égale distance des côtes nord et sud du Panama, et seulement environ 25 kilomètres à l'est de la frontière du Costa Rica. En raison de sa hauteur et de la largeur étroite du Panama, il est possible de voir à la fois l'océan Pacifique et l'océan Atlantique (la mer des Caraïbes pour être plus précis) depuis la crête du volcan Baru par temps clair. Pour plus d'informations sur la randonnée au sommet du volcan Baru cliquez ici...

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS MAINTENANT POUR UNE RANDONNÉE & CAMPING EN HAUT DU VOLCAN BARU »

Malheureusement il n'existe aucune carte de Boquete comportant des informations fiables et complètes sur les sentiers de randonnée de Boquete. Tout d'abord, les fortes pluies rendent certains sentiers inaccessibles, parfois même durant des années. D'autre part, de nombreux sentiers de randonnée sont situés dans une propriété privée, et même si par la loi, l'accès aux cascades et sommets sont accessibles au public, ce n'est pas toujours le cas... mais nous y travaillons!


Add This
Ajoutez aux favoris ou Partager...

Haut de page

Get 1 Week of Free Spanish Lessons you book 3 Weeks or more

Contact Us | Sign Up & Register Now | Reviews | Prices & Start Dates | Videos | FAQs | Info | Blog | Sitemap


Boquete's Cloud Forest has it all!

Quetzals, Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Wildlife, Panoramic Views!

SIGN UP NOW FOR A BOQUETE HIKING TOUR... »

You are here:
Home Eco-Tours Boquete
Hiking Tours

Boquete is a hiker's paradise...

We got the perfect trail for you!
Contact Us
fill out our CONTACT FORM

Request a Quote

Call Us Today!

+507 - 730 - 8344
315 - 254 - 2331
020 - 8144 - 2785
069 - 2547 - 2686
044 - 585 - 30 - 35
09 - 70 - 44 - 52 - 21
08 - 519 - 70 - 304
020 - 894 - 39 - 38
02 - 8007 - 5434
Skype user: habla.ya

Please note: most hiking trails in Panama are not maintained nor properly signed posted. Visitors not familiar with the area should always hike with a certified guide from a reputable company, as getting lost in the rainforest can put your life in danger. Sudden river surges, precipices, cold nights and other hazards are real threats. Wherever you are: never hike alone.

Hiking Trails in Boquete

 
Level of Difficulty
Length
(Aprox.)
Hiking Time
(Aprox.)
Currently Accessible
Peña Blanca (White Rock) Easy 4.5 km 3 - 4 hours Yes
Piedra de Lino (Lino Rock) Moderate 3 km 3.5 - 4.5 hours Yes
La Artillería (The Fortress Hike) Moderate 5 km 3.5 - 4.5 hours No
La Novia de la Montaña Moderate 4 km 3.5 - 4.5 hours No
El Pianista (The Piano Player) Moderate 5 km 4 - 5 hours Yes
Senderos en el PILA
(Hikes at Parque Internacional de la Amistad)
Moderate 6 km 4 - 5 hours Yes
Quetzals' Trail (Sendero de los Quetzales) Moderate 9.6 km 5 - 7 hours Yes
Sendero Culebra (The Snake's Trail) Difficult 18 km 6 - 8 hours Yes
Volcán Barú (Baru Volcano) Difficult 27 km 10 - 14 hours Yes

SIGN UP NOW & BOOK YOUR BOQUETE HIKING TOURS... »

Prices are per person and do not include Panama's 7% sales tax. Each hike requires a minimum of 2 persons to make a reservation. It's best if you let us know what you'd like to experience (level of difficulty, wildlife, birding, waterfalls, panoramic views, half day or full day) and we'll choose the best trail for you taking into account the time of the year, the weather and which trails can currently be accessed (some are within private property). Most trails in Panama are not mantained nor properly signed posted so please do not attempt to hike on your own.

Waterfall at the end of the White Rock Hiking Trail in Boquete, Panama

Peña Blanca (White Rock) - $30pp (students), $35pp (non students)

This trail is located in the Bajo Mono area within private land owned by the Landau family, one of Boquete's founding families.

This White Rock trail provides you with very good chances to spot a Resplendent Quetzal, sloths, howler monkeys as well as many other birds and wildlife. This is one of the easiest hikes in Boquete as it is virtually flat so it's not only a great choice if you're priority is to get up and close with the wildlife, but it's also suitable for families with kids or those looking for a less strenuous hike.

Most of the hike is through Boquete's cloud forest though at the beginning you will go through several vegetable plantations. At the end of the trail you will reach a small waterfall which gives this trail its name: at the top of the waterfall there are many white rocks!

SIGN UP NOW & BOOK YOUR BOQUETE HIKING TOURS... »

Hiking through a coffee plantation on the way up to Piedra de Lino in Boquete, Panama

Piedra de Lino (Lino Rock) - $30pp (students), $35pp (non students)

This hike, even though it's short, it's more challenging than the rest of the half day hikes as it is quite steep!

You start at about 1300 meters above sea level and end at about 1800 meters reaching a beautiful platform known as Lino Rock which gives you one of the most stunning views of the valley of Boquete (you can also rappel down this rock). Most of the hike is through a typical coffee plantation (Boquete is famous for its coffee), and just the very last bit of it is through cloud forest.

A must do if you want to appreciate the best view of the town of Boquete (perfect photo opportunities) or if you want to test yourself for more strenuous and longer hikes.

SIGN UP NOW & BOOK YOUR BOQUETE HIKING TOURS... »

At the peak of La Artilleria Hike in Boquete, Panama

La Artilleria (The Fortress Hike) - $40 pp (students), $45pp (non students)

Another short but very rewarding hike that takes you through farmland, cloud forest and finally leads you to a quite impressive volcanic rock formation (under which there is also a small cave) from where you can enjoy a clear view of the Pacific Ocean and the Volcan Baru. Some say that this hike offers the best view of all of Boquete's hikes and we won't deny this claim.

Many tales surround this site as it was supposedly used to store weapons by the local indigenous troops. This trail is located in the eastern part of Boquete's valley at approximately 1700 meters above sea level in an area known as Alto Jaramillo. Definitively one of the hikes that you cannot miss!

SIGN UP NOW & BOOK YOUR BOQUETE HIKING TOURS... »

La Novia de la Montaña (The Lady of the Mountain) - $30pp (students), $35 pp (non students)

Reaching the waterfall at the end of La Novia de la Montaña Hike in Boquete, Panama

La Novia de la Montaña is a short hike in the northern area of Boquete, in the Orqueta region. This secret trail, which is moderate on our scale of difficulty (the change in altitude is only 200 meters but some passages can be quite steep), is an adventure that offers a little bit of everything. It starts with beautiful panoramic views of the mountains and fincas surrounding Boquete. Later on, the path will lead you through an open space with trees on both sides, making it ideal for bird watchers, and the famous and elusive Quetzal can be spotted quite often. Other bird species include pinzones, tángaras, colibrís, ruiseñores, trogones, tucancillos, víreos, carpinteros, without to mention mammals that are typical of this area, such as the 2-finger sloth, the howler monkey, the capuchin monkey, and the ardilla cola roja, amongst others.

Once you enter the cloud forest, you have the opportunity to see immense trees that date back hundreds of years, and a variety of flora, from unique Panamanian flowers and orchids to plants that are used to treat cancer. Some of the tree species include sangrillos, jaules, laureles, robles, mamecillos, pinos, cipreces, guarumos and a grand variety of plants including piperaceas, bromelias, orchids, helechos, heliconias, etc.

Be sure to bring good hiking shoes (or we can lend you some boots) because you are going to get dirty! The forest is humid and muddy, and in some areas the path gets very steep, which makes it more difficult than other hikes in Boquete. And bring your swimming suit if you dare! At the end of the hike you'll reach a waterfall about 15 meters high. We call it "the lady of the mountain" because you can see the face of a woman in the rocks - some say you can see many faces. There is even an ancient ceremonial altar in front of the waterfall that makes you feel you are in a sacred place with a mysterious history. It is a tradition that anyone who makes the hike should go for a swim in the waterfall's pool. The water is cold, we will not lie to you, but it's definitely worth it and guaranteed to make you feel alive!

SIGN UP NOW & BOOK YOUR BOQUETE HIKING TOURS... »

Sendero El Pianista (The Piano Player) - $30pp (students), $35pp (non students)

River next to the Pianista Trail

The Pianista Trail Hike is one of the most overlooked excursions in Boquete. The main reason is because it's not marked well for tourists, though someone made some orange spray-painted markers on rocks and trees (not all that easily visible, though). Please do not enter trail without a guide!

The trail is located in the Arco Iris section of Boquete, in between Alto Lino and Palo Alto. The trailhead begins at the Il Pianista restaurant (which is a great place to stop for a bite to eat after your hike!). It very easy to get there by taxi (around $3/person) or bus (Arco Iris bus, about $0.75).

The trail can be broken into three "sections". In the first 45 minutes, you will walk through open area pasture land with gorgeous views of the surrounding mountains and downtown Boquete. Second you enter a dense jungle surrounded by lush vegetation, birds and insects. In here you will walk for about 1.5 hours and enter the cloud forest where it is very humid and magical, as you are literally walking in the clouds! Finally after another 30 minutes climbing the mountain, you will reach the top and will be fully enveloped in the cloud forest. It's really an amazing experience!

Believe it or not, this trail actually goes all the way to Bocas del Toro and crosses the "Continental Divide" (on one side of the mountain the water flows to the Pacific, on the other side of the mountain the water flows to the Caribbean). The entire hike from Boquete to Bocas del Toro would take 3 - 6 days depending on the time of the year and hikers' condition.

NOTE: This is a medium difficulty hike and is only recommended for children for the part up until the path enters the jungle. This trail is very muddy during the rainy season (April - December) and the weather changes abruptly, so please go prepared to get wet.

SIGN UP NOW & BOOK YOUR BOQUETE HIKING TOURS... »

El Parque Internacional de La Amistad and various of its hiking trails are more easily accessible from Cerro Punta

PILA Hikes - $75 pp (students), $95pp (non students) | $175 pp (Camping)

Parque Internacional La Amistad is an UNESCO World Heritage Site shared between Panama and Costa Rica. The park's plant and animal life are among the most diverse of the country. The forests vary from lowland tropical to subalpine, and much of the vegetation is virgin. Five of the six species of Central American felines (the jaguar, puma, ocelot, jaguarundi, and margay) are still present here, as well as the also-endangered Baird's tapir.

Only 3% of the PILA is located within the province of Chiriqui, but this part of the park is the most easily accessed of all (from the highlands of Cerro Punta). From the ranger station a series of trails depart and you will hike two of them in this hiking trip.

You will start hiking Sendero El Retoño, an easy going 2 km loop trail full of natural beauty and simply great for bird watching. Mostly flat, this hike takes you through lush cloud forest, over small bridges spanning rushing streams and into a tunnel formed from leaning stands of bamboo.

After hiking El Retoño trail, you will tackle La Cascada trail, a 4 km hike that leads you to a ridge with views of the valley and a spectacular waterfall. It's about a 2 km uphill hike to the waterfall, with an ascent of about 300 meters (starting at 2,180 m). Through the trail you will encounter three "miradores" (observation platforms) with sweeping views of the mountains and valleys. Those in for more of a challenge can return a bit and then continue through another trail for another couple of hours from where you can see the Caribbean on a clear day.

SIGN UP NOW & BOOK YOUR BOQUETE HIKING TOURS... »

Resplendent Quetzal in the Volcan Barú National Park

Quetzals' Trail - Out & Back: $50pp (students), $55pp (non students) | Full Trail: $75pp - $125pp (students), $125pp (non students) | Camping: $150pp (students), $175pp (non students)

Considered one of the most gorgeous paths in Central America, the Quetzals Trail is without any doubt the most popular hike in Panama's western highlands. Located within the Volcan Baru National Park, the "Sendero de los Quetzales" links the towns of Guadalupe, which is near Cerro Punta on the west side of the Volcano, with the town of Boquete which is on its east. The trail skirts the Baru Volcano on its north face and can be hiked in any direction, starting in Boquete and ending in Cerro Punta, or vice versa.

Hiking the 9.6 kms (total distance of 6 miles) of this path may take from 4 to 7 hours. Fluctuations in timing come from differences in hiking speeds, direction chosen to complete the hike (uphill or downhill), time spent contemplating the scenery and time invested "hunting down" one of the splendorous birds that gives its name to this path: the Resplendent Quetzal. For more information about hiking the Quetzals' Trail please click here...

SIGN UP NOW & BOOK YOUR BOQUETE HIKING TOURS... »

Culebra Trail - $50pp (students), $55pp (non students) (Full Day) | Conctact us for quote on complete trail

This hiking trail has been used for centuries to go to Bocas del Toro but nowadays it's certainly more challenging as the trail isn't maintained anymore because taking the bus or driving over the Cordillera is a lot more popular! It can take you anything from 5 - 7 days to hike this trail and should only be attempted during the dry season (December - April). During the rest of the year, depending on how much it has rained, you can hike up to the continental divide but it will be extremely muddy and difficult.

You'll get to experience the cloud forest at its best, with plenty of wildlife, birds and plants... a naturalist's dream!

SIGN UP NOW & BOOK YOUR BOQUETE HIKING TOURS... »

Volcan Baru Hike - $95pp (students), $95 pp (non students) | $150 pp (camping students), $175 pp (camping non students)

Contemplating the sun come out after the hike to the top of the Baru Volcano

At 3,475 meters (11,400 feet), "el Volcan Baru" is the highest point of Panama. The hike to the top is a total of 13.5 km from the ranger station and can be completed in a single day or also by camping.

This dormant volcano is just south of the Continental Divide in the western province of Chiriqui. The towns of Volcan, Cerro Punta and Guadalupe can be found on its western side, while Boquete is on the eastern flank. The fertile volcanic soil and climate of the area make it one of Panama's most productive agriculture regions as it is also drained by the Chiriqui and Caldera Rivers.

The Volcan Baru is roughly equidistant from Panama's northern and southern coastlines, and only about 25 kilometers east of the border with Costa Rica. Due to its height and Panama's relatively short width it is possible to see both the Pacific Ocean and Atlantic Ocean (the Caribbean Sea to be more precise) from the Volcan Baru's peak on a clear day. For more information about hiking to the top of Volcan Baru please click here...

SIGN UP NOW & REGISTER FOR A GUIDED TOUR TO HIKE THE VOLCAN BARU »

Unfortunately no Boquete maps exist with reliable and complete information about Boquete's hiking trails. For starters, heavy rains sometimes leave certain hiking trails inaccessible, even for years. On the other hand many hiking trails are located within private property, and even though by law, access to waterfalls and mountain's peaks should always be granted, it is not always the case... we're working on it!


Add This
Bookmark or share this page...

Top of page